A*North*Star

searching for a guide through life

Measuring Up

I was never the girl who cared what everybody else was doing. I was the quiet, aloof, bookworm who marched to the beat of my own drum.

But now? Ashamedly I’m the chick who occasionally, ok maybe more than occasionally, looks at the lives of my peers and wonders — am I measuring up??

Granted, I can admit I am in a good place. College graduate, relatively low student loan debt, employed full-time with health benefits, own two cars outright and pay my own bills. But still… I look at my friends, former classmates/co-workers and connections on my social media communities and think: I should be married by now; Why don’t I have kids yet?; My blog should be better; Shouldn’t I be couponing more?

Honestly I could drive myself crazy comparing myself and my life to others. And I know it’s not right. I don’t know where this is all coming from, but it’s not cute. I want that self-confident, jealous-free younger me back.

I heard this great quote today from Carrie Wilkerson of The Barefoot Executive from a blog talk radio interview she did for Only3Degrees with the Networking Queen, the late Denai Downs Vaughn.

“We are constantly comparing our beginner efforts with everybody else’s highlight reel.”

Everybody goes through good and bad. Isn’t it something how people never compare themselves to people who are having troubles but only those who are doing great in a particular area?

As hard as it might be… you just have to forget the whole measuring debacle. Concentrate on what you really want and just work as hard as you can to get there.

As Wilkerson said, you’ve got to “run your best race.”

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Measuring Up

  1. So true! Yet, its so difficult to “run your own race”..

  2. Couponing! Do you know how often I think to myself, ‘I should be doing that…’ Haven’t done it once, yet, lol. In regards to comparing yourself to someone else, I’ve heard, ‘When you compare yourself to others, you insult God.’ We’re all unique individuals for a reason.

Leave a Reply

